About GUFC

The roots of GUFC date back to the mid 90s when established ACT soccer club Juventus (formed in 1963) moved to the area, identifying itself as the Gungahlin Juventus Soccer Club.


In order to capitalise on the growing number of children (juniors) in the Gungahlin region, Juventus SC established the Gungahlin Juventus Soccer Club in 1997. On 27 Sept 2002 the club began a new chapter as an incorporated association under the name Gungahlin Junior Soccer Club (ACT). The new club took on much of the identity of the senior Juventus club, including a similar stylised Club Logo, but the Gungahlin Junior Soccer Club remained a separate association only supporting the football needs of boys and girls in the area.

On 25 January 2005, the Club again took a new direction with the association’s name changing to Gungahlin United Football Club to align with a national naming scheme and to incorporate the introduction of a broader playing base which included State League – seniors and masters, both male and female.

In 2011, GUFC formed an alliance with Premier League Club, Canberra City SC, to venture into National Premier League competitions. A formal agreement between GUFC and Canberra City was executed in 2012 which had seen GUFC field teams in the Under 12, Under 14 and Under 16 Men’s National Premier League.

In 2015, GUFC was granted a stand-alone National Premier League License and fields teams from NPL Under 12 to 1st Grade, as well as Women PL U17, U19 and 1st Grade teams.

GUFC has a player base of over 1500 players of all ages, with teams competing in various competitions including, but not limited to; National Premier League, State League, Junior League competitive and non-competitive MiniRoos.

The Club is the largest sporting association in the Gungahlin region and growing at a high rate. The continued growth of Gungahlin as a town centre for the Canberra region will ensure that GUFC remains one of the largest football clubs in the ACT and Australia.

Executive Members

Principal Executive

Aaron Alexander

General Manager Commercial

Andrew Tarnawskyj

General Manager Sport
Roy Philpott

Technical Team

Director Premier League
Brad Doohan

Director Community League
Bill Napier

Director State League and Masters
Victor Hughes


Deb Hampson

Rachael Gannis

Damian McFarlane